top of page
  • Khushi Salgia

Small Reflections From Books

this is an active list that I regularly update. also, follow me on goodreads


A

An American Marriage | Tayari Jones

Marriage is about so much more than just being in love.

G

The Giving Tree | Shel Silverstein

Nature will always be there for you. No matter how much you abuse it, it is always ready to welcome you with open arms.

The Great Gatsby | F. Scott Fitzgerald

Often the things we think will make us happy, things that we spend all our time and energy chasing, don't end up fulfilling us.

I

The Iliad | Homer

Most human conflict is for the sake of creating conflict, either out of boredom, personal biases, FOMO, attention, of for a feeling of importance/feeling of significance. Nearly all conflict can be resolved with empathetic, face-to-face conversation.

O

The Odyssey | Homer

coming soon

Of Mice and Men | John Steinbeck

People are inherently selfish. No matter how close you think you are to someone, if you are enough of a burden to someone, they will betray you. People aren't nice to people who already haven't been dealt a fair hand of cards.

T

Things Fall Apart | Chinua Achebe

coming soon

To Kill a Mockingbird | Harper Lee

Society kills mockingbirds all the time. Innocent people are constantly being judged, scrutinized, outcasted, and suspected just for not blindly following social norms like most people do. Society feels the need to demonize certain groups of people in order to make themselves feel comfortable. It is human nature to divide, discriminate, and create an "other."

#

13 Things Mentally Strong People Don't Do | Amy Morin

Feeling like a protagonist in my own story is my choice. My reaction and perception about a situation can change the whole course of what happened and allows me to write my narrative the way I want to. My life is not in my control, but the way I experience it is.

21 Lessons for the 21st Century | Yuval Noah Harari

This book taught me how history repeats itself. It felt like reading a history book except everything is happening currently instead of in the past, which made me realize how similar the past and the present are. Human nature is human nature, and the best way to predict the future is to learn about the past.

bottom of page